1 Northwest Vermont Communications Union District 2 **Governing Board Special Meeting** 3 May 14, 2024 at 6:00pm 4 **Virtual Meeting** 5 6 Attendance 7 See Attached. 8 9 Call to Order and Adjustments of the Agenda 10 Vice Chair C. Ainsworth called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m. followed by roll call. A quorum was 11 present to conduct business. No adjustments to the agenda. 12 13 **Public Comment** 14 No members of the public present, therefore no public comment. 15 16 **Board Elections** 17 Vice Chair C. Ainsworth opened the floor for nominations for NWCUD Chair. 18 C. Ainsworth gave a brief explanation of the Chair of the board duties, stating they must be 19 available at least weekly to NWFX staff. 20 21 K. Millman nominated Zach Burdick for Chair. C. Dunn seconded. Zach Burdick accepted. The 22 Vice Chair asked for further nominations. Hearing none, C. Ainsworth closed the floor for 23 nominations. A vote was called for, all in favor, none opposed, no abstentions. Motion carried. 24 25 Chair Z. Burdick opened the floor for nominations for NWCUD Vice Chair. 26 Z. Burdick gave a brief explanation of the Vice Chair duties. 27 28 K. Millman nominated Cathy Ainsworth for Vice Chair. Z. Burdick seconded. Cathy Ainsworth 29 accepted. The Chair asked for further nominations. Hearing none, Z. Burdick closed the floor for 30 nominations. A vote was called for, all in favor, none opposed, no abstentions. Motion carried. 31 32 Chair Z. Burdick opened the floor for nominations for NWCUD Treasurer. 33 Z. Burdick gave a brief explanation of the treasurer's duties and clarified to the board that the 34 treasurer is a non-voting member of the board. 35 36 S. McGowan nominated Brad Lewis for Treasurer. K. Millman seconded. Brad Lewis accepted. The 37 Chair asked for further nominations. Hearing none, Z. Burdick closed the floor for nominations. A 38 vote was called for, all in favor, none opposed, no abstentions. Motion carried. 39 40 Chair Z. Burdick opened the floor for nominations for NWCUD Clerk. 41 Z. Burdick gave a brief explanation of the clerk's duties and clarified to the board that the clerk is a 42 non-voting member of the board. 43 44 C. Ainsworth nominated Chasidy Benjamin for Clerk. S. McGowan seconded. Chasidy Benjamin 45 accepted. The Chair asked for further nominations. Hearing none, Z. Burdick closed the floor for 46 nominations. A vote was called for, all in favor, none opposed, no abstentions. Motion carried. 47 48 **Other Business**

G. Rice informed staff of the warehouse that is available through the state of Vermont to obtain office furniture and stated that he would be happy to assist in picking up any furniture needed. Z. Burdick welcomed the new representatives. He stated that we may look at changing the dates of our representative appointments and annual meetings for next year as allowed. A. Crawford introduced herself as the Milton alternate representative. M. Stebbins introduced himself as the Sheldon representative and new Sheldon Town Administrator. G. Rice recommended that we offer an in-person meeting again in 2024, as we have in the years past. Staff and Chair confirmed that we plan on scheduling one again this year. Adjourn C. Ainsworth motioned to adjourn. H. Jewett seconded. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned 6:29pm.

1	Northwest Vermont Communications Union District
2 3	Governing Board Special Meeting Attendance
4	May 14, 2024
5	Alburgh Town – Ken Millman, Stu McGowan, Mark Stephens
6	Alburgh Village – Cheryl Dunn
7	Bakersfield – Heather Jewett, Brenda Churchill
8	Berkshire –Kurt Valenta
9	Enosburg Falls Village – Absent
10	Enosburgh Town – Jesse Weatherwax
11	Fairfax – Absent
12	Fairfield – Cathy Ainsworth, Vice Chair
13	Franklin – Amy Adams
14	Georgia – Zachary Burdick, Chair
15	Grand Isle – Absent
16	Highgate – Absent (excused)
17	Isle La Motte – Vacant
18	Milton – Erik Breiland, Amy Crawford
19	Montgomery – Erin Kopacz
20	North Hero – Vacant
21	Richford – Vacant
22	Sheldon – Matthew Stebbins
23	South Hero – George Rice
24	St. Albans Town – Robert Warner
25	Swanton Town – Vacant
26	Swanton Village – Larry King
27	Staff –Mary Kay Raymond, Chasidy Benjamin, Brad Lewis
28	
29	
30	
31	